Louth Navigation Canal 1770 to 1924
The Louth Navigation Canal runs between Louth and Tetney on the North Sea Coast. The canal was built to move goods in and out of Louth.
It was difficult to transport large quantities of grain and wool out of the Louth area by road especially in the wintertime over Marsh. Equally difficult, was the transport of coal and timber being moved into the Town. Also the canal provided some drainage for low laying Marsh between Louth and the Sea.
Louth Navigation Company was formed by local landowners in 1760. By 1770 the Canal was built under the guidance of John Grundy from Spalding. He was one of the countries first civil engineers who had experience of the drainage problems in the Lincolnshire Fens.
The canal cost £28,000.00 to be cut out and was over eleven miles long. It had eight locks to cover a drop in land level of 46 feet. The labour was provided by mainly of the Irish, who because of their work on navigation canals were known as "Navvies".
By 1846 the railway had come to Grimsby and then to Louth. Consequently, trade on the canal became less and less. Also silt levels in parts of the canal were becoming a problem. So by 1924 the canal was closed.
Louth Navigation Canal: Keddington Lock
Louth Navigation Canal: Ticklepenny Lock
Louth Navigation Canal: beyond Ticklepenny Lock